A note to my kids (from the past to the future) – part 1

Disclaimer: I don’t have any kids, but since I’m going to have some someday, why not write to them? I will get around to writing to my June, my wife, but…that’s between her and I.

Dear Nathanael Jr., 1 other son and 2 daughters…

Hi! How’s it going? I just want to start off by saying you are loved by me, your mom and more importantly God loves you! He did create you (tho your mom and I had contributed…a little) and he wants the best for you, you make him smile. You know how we sing songs and read his book together? We do that because this is one of the ways we worship and love him, he lets us know in His word that he loved us before we even loved him, isn’t that amazing?

Now I know there are probably times you think that your mom and I came from another planet, that we’re not “cool” and we might be rather annoying (but not that much, otherwise no food/allowance/etc for YOU – just kidding). I once was your age, really! Oh sure I was much more popular than you might believe, but yeah, I was a ___ year old like you. As you grow older you might get some of the reasons why I act quirky, but don’t you like it? Would you rather have me be mostly serious and away at the office all day all year except for during vacation?

Now I know you might feel some unnecessary pressure from the people we worship with on the weekend, you being PKs and all, I’m sorry for this pressure and I hope it doesn’t compromise who you truly are. If it’s getting to you and you want to worship with some other believers, I’m cool with that.
Does it seem like I’m spending more time with people from church instead of you? I’m sorry if it seems like it, wanna grab St. Arbucks with me sometime? You’re important to me, I hope you never say “My dad was never there for me” because I don’t want to be that way at all.

Are we working on a project car yet? Do I have the ’61 Lincoln Continental with the LS9 swap aka Black Betty up and running? If not, I do appreciate your help in building one of my dream cars.

Dear sons and daughters, by now you’re noticing guys and girls in a way that words can never fully describe. This thing called like/love is something, eh? It’s something you want and something you will have, but it comes with responsibility and I hope you realize that when I ask you about ________ I’m curious but also looking out for you. You’ve already suffered a broken heart? My sons and daughters I am sorry this is so, I’ve had my fair share of heartache of love lost and in time (whether you believe me or not) you’ll love again and here’s hoping that love you’ll have is for keeps!

I don’t have much left to say in this note except do you truly understand that I love you but God loves you much more than I ever could? I hope you also recognize that the reason why I correct you is because I don’t want you or anyone else to get hurt. I hope I’m correcting you out of love and I hope this is known, I know what it’s like to be corrected out of anger and frustration and it’s no bueno in my book and I’ll try to prevent this from happening.

All the best,
Nathanael

Leave a Reply

