God moments with strangers: I’m sorry campaign/Marin Foundation

I went to the Chicago Gay Pride Parade last year, I hung out with these wonderful people…

and today I chose to wear my “I’m Sorry” t-shirt because it was a good conversation starter then at the Gay Pride Parade and it’s still a good conversation starter.

I went out to get some Chinese food for lunch, it is the best (yes, I’m biased and not joking) and I usually go there 2x a month (it is good, but I don’t need to eat it regularly).
Anyway, I walked in and before I talked to the owner about what I wanted to order I was questioned by the only other customer what I was sorry about and from there I talked to the guy for close to 15 minutes about how The Marin Foundation, a few friends and I wore these shirts to the Gay Pride Parade and we shared with those who asked (and they were many) what we were sorry about.

We shared how we’re sorry for the way Christians have treated the GLBT community by saying God doesn’t love them or by treating them badly altogether. I expressed to this guy I am sorry for what I’ve said in the past and I truly love my GLBT brothers and sisters, God loves them and so do I.

This guy was taken aback, he went on to share with me how his brother is gay and he’s been hated on and it’s not often enough that Christians who have said callous things or been callous to GLBT members have come forward to admit their wrongdoings. I told myself that sometimes instead of going out and asking for forgiveness and seeking reconciliation with others we hide in our churches and play it safe where it’s comfortable.
It was good to take time to explain the I’m Sorry campaign, but you know who all credit is due? God.

God has worked in my heart, transforming it and changing it into his own. I’m not the person I was 7 years ago, I’m not the person I was yesterday. All of life is a trip, and it’s about this journey that we get to our destination. With this in mind as a follower of Christ I can either walk the path that is of my own making or I can seek to be more Christlike with those around me, to truly love them as Christ loves me.
I’m not a public speaker, I have an easier time speaking about what I know and with some time to process it all (I’m an introspective extrovert) before I share… So me, talking to B* for 15 minutes without having a “what will I say if someone asks me about this t-shirt I’m wearing” thought in my mind…God, it is to his glory and it was Him moving through me and helping me express what I was supposed to say.

God moments will happen, will you take the opportunity to use them for His glory?
~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

