Rethinking the “It gets better” campaign from my perspective

For a while I’ve toyed with the idea of putting out my own “it gets better” video to add to their campaign, to which if you’re unfamiliar with the IGB campaign their website sums it up as follows;

“The It Gets Better Project was created to show young LGBT people the levels of happiness, potential, and positivity their lives will reach – if they can just get through their teen years. The It Gets Better Project wants to remind teenagers in the LGBT community that they are not alone β€” and it WILL get better.”

Now I am in full support of said campaign, but on an individual level I recognize now that I cannot do that…because I don’t know for certain if it will get better, but hear (or read) me out when I say I will do what I can to make it better.

The campaign’s a good campaign in my opinion, but as a follower of Christ I believe that if I have the will to do this, the words to say this, I also need the actions to back up what I am saying.
So I’ve decided that instead of putting out my own video, I will do what I can to help make life better for all, I will seek ways to be inclusive and loving and accepting, I will continue to build bridges between the Christian community and the LGBTQ community, because they’re not exclusive and there needs to be more overlap.

James 2:6
“and you say, “Good-bye and have a good day; stay warm and eat well”–but then you don’t give that person any food or clothing. What good does that do?”

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

