The prayer of serenity

Some of you may be familiar with the prayer of serenity/serenity prayer by Reinhold Niebuhr:

I purchased a small stained glass depiction of the prayer above earlier today, because I like the prayer and because at times I actually need to follow what it says! 🙂

To which if I examine it carefully and internalize and process what it says… Somehow by the grace of God I will be granted serenity, I will be able to accept what I cannot change, I’ll have the courage to change what I can and the wisdom to know the difference.

The crucial part of this prayer for me is the acceptance of what I cannot change and wisdom for what I can change, because right now that’s hard for me to get, hard for me to grasp, because there definitely are circumstances in my life I wish I could change and maybe…just maybe, they fall in the acceptance box of not being able to change it, and sometimes that is very hard for me to deal with and simply accept. I do recognize to some extent of what I am capable of doing to bring about change, bring about restoration and reconciliation, to help in Kingdom of God work with the strengths and talents God has given me.

Having this little piece of stained glass will help me to remember and perhaps even offer up this very prayer. I am a work in progress, and God knows and I know that I have this one life to get there, and it is certainly by God’s strength alone that I am able to get where I need to be in my life.

So even as I write… God I do so desperately want to have the wisdom to know what I can change and to accept that I cannot change, I need you so much to get there, I need you so much to help me let go, help me in my self righteousness and when I think I am capable of doing it all without your help, help me and hold me…Amen!

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

