Learning and wanting to love again

Love, love is a verb. It’s not a verb because old school DC Talk told me so, it is a verb, it must be active and acted upon in order for its sustainability. But love cannot be sustained if it’s unilateral, and the whole notion of falling in love…it’s temporal and a weak perception of love, because if you can fall in love (hypothetically) you certainly can fall out…and I don’t know anyone who likes the latter, it hurts like hell and leaves one in pieces that take a while to gather, it also leaves one guarded and with a mindset of never again will I fall in love and to that I think it’s good never to fall in love again.

But when it comes to acting on love, being active with love, sustainable and bilateral love…I’m ready to learn how to love again.

Love is universal, but how love is acted out varies from couple to couple; a good book that tackles different love languages is The 5 Love Languages, I highly recommend it, and in the same vein of thought to some degree I recommend Sex God.

In the movie Hot Tub Time Machine there’s this dialogue between one of the characters (a product of the 2000’s) and another character (product of the 1980’s) and I think at times it does sum up love;

Jacob: I’m kinda right in the middle of a thing right now, but can I text you later?
Girl at Club: Can you what?
Jacob: Are you online at all?
Girl at Club: I have no idea what you’re talking about.
Jacob: How do I get a hold of you?
Girl at Club: You come find me.
Jacob: That sounds… exhausting.

“You come find me” love beckons, love calls and at times love is indeed “exhausting” but for me, it is worth the exhaustion. It is worth the chance of having my heart ripped out and stomped on again…I’m not stupid, I’m not going to give away myself cheaply, I know the kind of girl I am looking for and I hope she’s looking for me as well.

When I proactively look for love, I deem it “praying with my eyes open”; Love won’t simply fall into my lap, heck if that happened how sustainable if it just came to me, but it is something I must search out and take to God in prayer. I want to love and be loved, I am ready to do my part in the process of looking for love…it is time, now is that time for me. ๐Ÿ™‚

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

