11/31 – Something about me people seem to compliment

Something about me people seem to compliment

People tend to compliment me on my active listening skills, that is listening to what someone has to say and engaging them based on what they had to say. I don’t listen solely to do this but over the years that it is important to listen, to remember names, to engage in dialogue and do what I can to remember a person’s story.

Everyone has a story, now whether they think their feel like sharing their story it’s up to them…but I actively listen, because people matter, people’s personal narrative of where they’ve been and what has shaped their lives is also important.

I am doing what I can to judge less and actively listen more, because some times I start writing off someone because…well there are many reasons, but they’re not right reasons and I guess I get convicted by the Holy Spirit to not judge and just be with that individual and listen. God has also given me the lack of fear (for lack of better words) to engage strangers in dialogue, doesn’t always mean that they’ll talk to me but there are times that they will.
I like going to Chicago, to which I’ll be going there next Thursday with my bro Mark, and one thing I like doing is going to Millennium Park/”The Bean” because there are always a lot of people checking it out, photographing themselves, and enjoying nice weather when the weather is nice…but I primarily like it because it gives me time to engage strangers in conversation, and when people start talking and there’s a conversation, the “stranger” label drops and you find commonalities with the person you’ve just met…this isn’t everyone’s forte but I try to make it mine, I mean, what do I have to lose asking a person how their day is going and then some? 🙂

Like I mentioned previously, people matter, and I guess that’s my motivation to love on them in the simplest of ways by active listening to their stories.

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

