16/31 – A book I’ve read that changed my views on something

A book I’ve read that changed my views on something

I am a follower of Christ and I think I’m going to stick with saying that the Bible has been a book that has changed my views, and not just on some things but most things!

When I was younger so much younger than today… I was home-schooled, and part of our “curriculum” was reading the Bible from cover to cover, and we took turns reading it and out loud at that! We did this 6 or so times… My reading out loud skills got better, my understanding from a conservative Evangelical perspective was shaped; I heard the Bible and I kinda took it at face value and didn’t question it…

But apart from being shaped by the Bible, I had views that I picked up that weren’t necessarily my own, “well my mom says/my pastor says” and other things people said became something I sprinkled about in my vocabulary.

But in my older years, despite the dynamic that comes from reading the Bible (My Interpretation + The Bible = My Interpretation) I reread it with Jesus as the hinge, God is love, there is more grace that comes from God than I would’ve believed in my younger years, God never retracted his “it is good” statement from the creation narrative found in Genesis.

One thing I recognize with being a follower of Christ is that the more I read into what Jesus said as well as what he did, the more I want to be like him. He stood along side the poor, the oppressed and the marginalized in his day and age and in my life I too want to stand along side those people who are made in the image of God. I recognize that it is easier for me to interact with people who are different than me than those who are similar to me…recognizing hypocrisy that mirrors my own in my current years makes seek out ways to change and make things better within my own life before I get hung up on someone else’s issues. Gandhi put it well; “be the change you want to see” and in my own life this is what I desire, to change myself because God only can change me, I can’t impose change on anyone else.

While I might not always what’s being expressed within the Bible since I am not the original audience to whom it was written, whether or not I truly believe some of it, I have faith in God to help me navigate the Bible despite all its twists and turns in this inspired book. I’ll be the first one to admit that the Bible has some downright boring sections to it, but I think God can use the boring and mundane bits for his glory.

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

