21/31 – My best friends and what makes them special

 

My best friends and what makes them special

I haven’t been one that could be described as a “social butterfly” and so my friendships have been low in numbers, but deep ones all around. I do appreciate the diversity in my friendships, variety is the spice of life and it certainly plays out in regards to my friends.

Sonia – our friendship goes back to 2004 when we were in a diversity group at the community college we both attended. Religion and stereotypes were brought up, she shared what people thought about Muslims and I brought up what people thought about Christians, and from there our friendship was born. She’s getting married this year, I’ve been invited to the wedding and it should be awesome! I love her dearly, she’s an awesome person.

Ben – Ben and I go back…18 years back, we were in Boy Scouts together and since then we still hang out, I actually work with him in the same high school youth group. He’s a good friend because he and I have been through a lot of good times and bad times, I’m always glad to have opportunities to speak my mind about what’s bothering me as well as good things on my horizon. He is a fan of beer like I am, so there are times where we kick back, drink brews and talk about theology…beer + theology = a good combination.

Mel – Back in 2004 I met Mel while running Cross Country in college, she was a fun one to run with…and there were times in my kindness where she had to beat me to it; for instance, I would open the door for her (I tend to do that for people) but she would dash off down the halls of our school just to open the door for me, she went out of her way to do things like that. We still stay in touch, she’s out on the East Coast so I don’t see her all that regularly but our times together is worthwhile.

Mark – I’ve known Mark for close to 4 years now and initially he and I were opinionated on the same thing, but from different sides, and while that can cause rifts in any relationship, we get along peaceably nowadays and hang out, do youth ministry together & go on adventures taking pictures.While we don’t see eye-to-eye on everything he speaks his mind and doesn’t ride on the coattails of someone else, which even tho we have differences that means a lot to me; someone who is articulate in their own way instead of expressing the opinions of others and passing them off as their own. He’s been immensely helpful, a good listener inasmuch a good talker, a balance of both serve him well.

Alex – Not only do I work with amazing guy, he’s an awesome bearded long-haired guy like me! πŸ˜‰ He’s not one of my oldest (as in knowing) friends but we share a lot, and I’ve been real with him with what’s going on in my life and he does likewise. He’s a well thought out individual who has a lot of information on genocides and such, not perhaps the best of subjects but he knows the underpinnings of a LOT of things and it startles me sometimes how some things have come together. He just started watching Lost so it’s been amusing (from one who watched the entirety of that show in 2-3 weeks) to hear what he’s finding out on one of my favorite shows ever.

~Nathanael~

 

Leave a Reply

