A case against cheap beer

God made beer because he loves us and wants us to be happy – Benjamin Franklin

I like beer. In moderation, I like beer. I like all kinds of beer, to which my favorites at this time is Hop Czar Indian Pale Ale & Guinness. I also like how there’s a rich history of beer and followers of Christ, to which a book that came out not too long ago covered this matter – The Search for God and Guinness: A Biography of the Beer that Changed the World – there’s so much to like about beer…but there’s something about beer that does get to me…

There are times when I go to the liquor store the person ahead of me is buying beer, and not just a 12 pack, but a 30 pack! The beer’s a brand I’ve never heard of, but what floors me is that it costs $13 and change, which is roughly 43¢ a beer! So I wonder…

When does going from liking beer become just drinking beer for drinking beer sake? When does the taste buds God has made for me become worn out and any old beer will do?

I think that’s not what God had in mind, to give into something so that it’s just done and not savored. He gave us love, but if we get blinded by infatuation and lust, any traces of love cannot be found. Money is a good thing, but when we give into greed and wanting more and more without thinking about those who are in need, money is no longer a good thing.

Maybe that’s why the suffix -aholic exists, a word defined as ““a person who has an addiction to or obsession with some object or activity”. It’s okay to like beer, but when you like it to the point where you lose your taste for it and still consume, you can become an alcoholic. You can do a great job honoring God in the work place, but when work takes precedence and it consumes you day in and day out, and even when you’re apart from work it’s still on your mind and it affects your livelihood, you can become a workaholic.

These and many other things are not innately wrong and/or evil, but when you lose control, and the “object or activity” controls you instead of you controlling it…that’s where the downward spiral starts. It doesn’t mean you cannot over come being an alcoholic or a workaholic or some other form of -aholic, but it’s something that needs to be worked out proactively, because if it were as easy as stating ‘no, I’m not going to do that anymore’ there would be less -aholics out there.

If there comes a point in my life where beer loses its taste, I am going to stop drinking altogether, there’s no need in my life to be controlled by something instead of the other way around.

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

