Faith, Outcomes, and the road less traveled

I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I,
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.
The road not taken – Robert Frost

I write this while it’s still fresh in my head…

I just came from a older men Bible study, I brought down the median age to 63 if you want to know how old I’m talking. I was invited by a guy who attends the main church that has a church plant that I attend, my “church notes” notebook drew him into conversation with me..20 minutes after the fact we parted ways, but he invited me to attend a Bible study that meets at a local mom & pop place on Wednesdays…

So I did.

We got to talking and we started talking about faith and outcomes, and while I was listening I had an “a-ha” moment, to which that moment is as follows; faithfulness to God in different ways have different outcomes, for the well worn path it requires little to no faith to travel that road and the outcome is more predictable than not. God is calling me to a road less traveled, to build bridges between the Christian community and the LGBT community, it’s not a well worn path, it’s not something that can be ignored by my generation, it can’t be swept under the carpet and shrugged off.

Do I truly know what the outcome will be in my engagement of building bridges between the Christian community and the LGBT community? I really don’t, but that’s where my faith comes into play; that whatever happens, God will be with me and he will see me through. Maybe I will be part of the people who choose love over judgment, faithfulness over walking away because the fire got too hot. I had a dream once where I brought the “I’m Sorry Campaign” (I wrote about some of it here) to the Castro District of San Francisco, to which I say to that, why does it have to be ‘just a dream’? Why not make it a reality? God willing, if it’s meant to be I will be a part of that!

***

Noah from the Bible built an ark to house the animals in preparation for weather never seen before! Rain what’s that? He built the ark, a road clearly not traveled, he had faith without knowing the complete outcome of his actions.

Moses from the Bible led the Israelites through the desert for 40 years in search of “The Promise Land” and he didn’t even enter! Yet he remained faithful to God without knowing the complete outcome of what he and they were doing.

The Bible has many examples of men AND women who didn’t know the outcome of their actions, but they had faith in God to see them through. I want to emulate that behavior, I want to keep walking that path even tho I don’t know see ahead, to keep walking “by faith and not by sight”.

***

Back to the Bible study for older men…
I shared with them my intentions and desires to build bridges between the Christian community and the LGBT community, to bring God’s love to people who may have gotten the short end of the stick from Christians who say and act in ways that are not Christlike. They lauded my intentions without a hint of being snarky! They get that engagement and faithfulness need to be carried out and not doing anything won’t make this issue go away, it needs to happen! I was happy, almost in tears of happiness to be honest, because while this is something I desire to be a part of I don’t always know what kind of Christians I’m dealing with when I bring it up, some are open and wanting to be a part of it as well while others are…hmmm…limiting of God’s grace and love for humanity as a whole? I think that’s more of what it is than plain old homophobia.

I look forward to next Wednesday morning already, these guys are awesome!

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

