Jennifer Knapp at Roscoe’s (recap)

    Last night I had the opportunity to hear the musician Jennifer Knapp speak and sing at Roscoe’s in Chicago. I’ve listened to her music for the past 15 years and finally I was given an opportunity to hear her perform. Tho recent and not new news about Jennifer is that she’s a lesbian, to which I briefly blocked her partner from moving (accidentally mind you). Jennifer is as articulate a speaker as well as a musician, it was truly a blessing to hear her stories, she puts it out there and she’s real and quite intentional. 🙂

I love a good story, I really do, and I think at times that is lacking in our Western culture, if we were an oral tradition culture maybe we’d retain the magic that comes from sharing stories. Apart from story and song time with Jennifer Knapp there was Q&A with Jennifer Knapp, the questions were really really good! If a video of last night’s get-together gets posted online I’ll share the link because it was so good.

Then there was another good part of the night; my mother whom I have been going over the Love is an Orientation DVD and Curriculum with joined me! My mom is on her own path of doing what she can to build bridges between the Christian community and the LGBT community, primarily with some of her gay and lesbian friends, but also attending the local chapter of PFLAG when she can as well. I’m proud of her, not that her path is one where she has made a 180° in her journey, but her willingness to be more like Christ. I say being more like Christ, because Jesus even said that he didn’t come for the “well” but the “sick”, that is the ones in his day and age who were thrown under the bus chariot, in the same way I aspire to be in community with those who have been marginalized and exiled from the community at large but also the Christian community.

She’s making quantum leaps, she is engaging people in conversation, she’s “getting it” more and more…and she enjoyed the get-together last night’s event she can’t wait till the next one! 🙂

In a way I don’t look at it as a case of that you can teach an old dog new tricks, but I see it as God can change the heart and mind of anyone for His glory. If you told me last year that my mom would be joining me in going to a gay bar in Chicago in the heart of the Boys Town district, I’d probably stifle a laugh and run off to somewhere private where I could laugh more…but God’s working on her heart and mind, he’s working on mine as well!

I also think it was a good opportunity for her to put in-real-life faces with Andrew Marin and The Marin Foundation, people whom I love so very much, people I love being around and just BEing as well as DOing. She also got to meet one of the men who is in the DVD series, which she was kinda unabashedly acknowledging how handsome he was, “even more than in the DVD series” haha, you know who you are D*! 🙂

Here’s to the continual process of building bridges between the Christian community and the LGBT community,
Here’s to Jennifer Knapp and her partner,
Here’s to God constantly performing heart and mind surgery,
Here’s to God’s faithfulness and love for all of humanity,

and here’s to the next opportunity my mom and I have to go to one of the Living in the Tension events!

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

