3/30 – Those eclectic oldies

Those eclectic oldies

Growing up the music my mom made us kids listen to were classic rock, classical music, and whatever tunes were played on the “Christian” radio station. I still listen to a good deal of classical music, Four Seasons by Vivaldi is one of my all time favorite pieces, the pieces do indeed sound like the seasons they’re representing! 🙂

But I’m a fan of classic rock, big time. Apart from having a massive collection of wax, I have listened to it for so long I can usually tell a song from the 60s to the 80s from the first few notes, but I make it more interesting. On long drives my mom and I will usually play guess the song, but we take it a step further, here’s how we play:
1 point for naming the song
2 points for naming the band who performs the song
3 points for naming the album the song is on
4 points for listing the track number said song is on said album
Have I blown your mind yet? 🙂

Every now and then I put in a request to hear a song I like on the classic rock station. When I was younger so much younger than today I would mostly request Thus Spake Zarathustra (2001: A Space Odyssey’s theme) because I mostly liked the intro, and you really can’t go wrong with kettle drums. But lately I’ve been asking to hear this little oddity, Hocus Pocus by Focus

It’s an odd one for sure, but more often than not it gets some air time because of me! I like the eclectic and obscure oldies; Boris the Spider by The Who, The Black Widow by Alice Cooper….hmmm…spiders is the theme of two weird songs, I just made a connection.

Anyway, I love classic rock and I enjoy when they play my requests, because maybe there’s someone else out there in Radio-Land who has never heard that song or couldn’t remember what that one song is called (to which I probably know). Music is better for the eclectic and obscure musicians and songs, it doesn’t make this thing called music so stiff and regimented.

~Nathanael~

8 thoughts on “3/30 – Those eclectic oldies

  1. Love Focus! I have several of their albums. And love classic rock from the 60s and 70s. Have quite the vinyl and CD collection. But you’re way beyond me in terms of knowing the track listings on an album. Good on ya.

  2. Classic rock is excellent for sure. And that game seems to be one that would be quite fun on a long trip. Probably helps pass time!

  3. Nice take on this prompt, Nathanael! And how appropriate that your game includes points for knowing all that stuff, I award you 200 points for knowing the actual name of the theme song to 2001 Space Odyssey! 🙂

  4. I love the classic rock, too. Along with Disco, some country, a little classical is all right, with a smattering of other stuff like nature sounds, etc. Like people, it takes all kinds to make the world go round.

Leave a Reply

