4/30 – Part time driver, all time autophile

Part time driver, all time autophile

I enjoy driving, I really do, but my love of cars goes beyond getting my drivers license 11 years ago…it started when I was 4!

The neighbor of a friend had purchased a British Racing Green Jaguar XJ6 and I told the guy that someday I would own what he was driving. In hindsight maybe an ’88 Jaguar XJ6 isn’t a good place to begin with for owning a Jaguar (electrical gremlins plagued this car in the 80s), but I didn’t know about the Jaguar E Type, XJ220, D Type & C Type.

I sadly do not have my full “man card” as I don’t know how to drive manual…yet, but I dream and hopefully I will learn off my friend’s Mitsubishi Eclipse. There’s something about cars that appeal to me, I think it’s mostly aesthetics and speed that appeal to me most, gas mileage takes the back burner when it comes to my favorite cars of all time, some of them are as follows:

1) Bugatti Veyron 16.4 Super Sport

2) Acura NSX

3) Porsche 911 GT3

4) Lamborghini Diablo 6.0 VT (The dream car of my youth)

5) Mercedes 300SL “Gullwing”

6) Jaguar E Type

those are most of my favorite cars, they scream sexy and speed in their own right.

In my 11 years of driving I have the experiences, I can’t say I enjoyed it all because who truly enjoys bumper-to-bumper Chicago rush hour traffic or passing a trailer on fire in the dead of night? I do enjoy long stretches of driving, my time to and from Nashville was one of my favorites simply because of the terrain differences & the times where it seemed like I was on “The Green Hell“.

Cars are part of my past as well as my present, and here’s hoping they’re a part of my future as well. πŸ™‚ It would be nice to find a girl who is as much of an autophile as I am, someone whom I can drive with and get a project car with, someone whom I can get greasy with in the garage (that’s not entirely a sexual euphemism).

~Nathanael~

9 thoughts on “4/30 – Part time driver, all time autophile

  1. The XKE will always be my dream car and I do have my “man card.” πŸ˜‰ But really, British racing green anything has a place in my heart. Your girl is out there. Just keep an eye open for her.

    • Unless they make the Birdcage or some neo-retro street version of the Tipo 151/3, I’ll pass. I do like the styling of the Granturismo S, but that’s about it.

  2. Ah, you have posted things of beauty! For classics, I (heart) the Thunderbirds.

    So hello from a fellow WWFC 30-day writing challenge participant.

    Give me a visit some time at thriftshopcommando.blogspot.com

  3. Beautiful cars, indeed. although I don’t aspire to own them. I do get the whole “love your car” feeling. My latest set of wheels is a Toyota Highlander (2006). Not a sporty machine, but it fits me quite well.

    I hope you get your dream car – and your dream gal!

  4. Those are some beautiful cars! Very nice choices. I’ve always been a Porsche fan myself. And don’t give up, there are plenty of girls out there who love cars… and getting “greasy” in the garage πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

