11/30 – Getting my undergrad in Psychology…7 years later

I started my undergrad career in 2003, and and didn’t wrap up till 2010, it was a long and arduous journey but I made it. 🙂

I started off my college career at a community college the autumn after I graduated high school, I kinda had my mind made up in thinking that I would pick up as many gen-eds in 2 years as I could and then transfer out to a school in the area that had an undergrad program in Youth Ministry and finish up in 2007 or in the spring of 2008.

But…life and other things got in the way…

I did pull off the first 2 years without nary a hitch, but when I transferred over I didn’t stay in the youth ministry program for long, and so I was forced with starting over to square one or picking up an undergrad in Biblical Studies or Psychology, I decided to go with the latter.

It was also at this time of switching majors that my parents separated (blow #1) and then my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer (blow #2) and then my father decided he was going to bail on her (blow #3) to which I stepped up to the plate to be my mom’s primary caregiver, which meant I took a year off of school.

Other issues arose, primarily financial difficulties which meant I didn’t jump back in the saddle of school as quickly as I got out. I also for a while had a hard time managing my time, and there was a stretch where I was taking on 19 credits in one semester while working a 29+ work week…for those of you had to balance both full time employment and full time being a student, my hat’s off to you, I didn’t do well doing both at the same time despite not working a full time job.

But things picked up, I was able to get back on track, to manage my time properly and take a job (not so much a better job than the one I had before, but there weren’t too many demands like the other job had) and in 2010 I graduated 7 years later.

***

I realize that there were many things I could have avoided which would have shortened my stint as an undergrad student, but some things required me stepping up where others just backed down. It was stressful and had I known what I know now I probably would have been in a Psychology undergrad program and then picked up a Masters in Divinity at a later time, but it is what it is and I’m glad that my undergrad days are done. I didn’t make a lot of friends in college but the few that I made are very good ones, I look forward to attending the wedding of one of my best college friends this summer, it should be a lot of fun!

All in all I can’t change my past, I only can change now and the future, and things look good! 🙂 7 years to finish an undergrad is a lengthy time, but I made it and I have a sense of accomplishment every time I look at my diploma.

~Nathanael~

4 thoughts on “11/30 – Getting my undergrad in Psychology…7 years later

  1. I also went to school while working full time and I know exactly how you feel! When it was all over, I kept feeling like I was forgetting something – what with all the “spare” time I finally had! Congratulations on your accomplishment. Maybe it took other people less time, but you were there for your mom and I’m sure she appreciated you being there for her.

  2. Fantastic!!! Funny, my son and I are going to the orientation for our local community college tomorrow. He plans to do two years, then go to a state college. I need to take notes on your post!

Leave a Reply

