19/30 – The last time I was in San Diego

The last time I was in San Diego

I have extended family in California and Arizona, and for a while in the late 80s I saw them on a semi-regular basis. Flying was [relatively] inexpensive and so the then family of 5 would fly from Chicago to San Diego and elsewhere in that area.

So one time my family went to visit my uncle, aunt, and cousin at their place in Escondido. It was a nice trip to say the least, had I known what I know now maybe not, but I was young and naive so I didn’t know what was going on. While we were out there we drove to San Diego to spend the day at the San Diego Zoo, which was a lot of fun, but it got better when I was asked;

Would you like to go on a camel ride?

Would I! Yes! Riding animals, if possible, is pretty much one of the most enjoyable zoo-related activities a kid can do. Adults might not like it, but they’re able to bike and drive cars, as a kid who cannot do either, what beats being a biped for a while? Riding animals, and so I went on my first (and up to this point only) camel ride at the San Diego Zoo.

It’s been a long while since I’ve spent time with the extended family, but I recall with fondness the time we all went to the San Diego Zoo and I got to ride a camel. I don’t know if I’d ride one again, but if the opportunity presents itself I just might. πŸ™‚

~Nathanael~

9 thoughts on “19/30 – The last time I was in San Diego

  1. I’ve been in a few interesting places in my life; inside a sunken ship, diving out of a plane at 10,000; climbing a coral reef off the coast of Bermuda, lunching on the rim of the caldera in Santorini, gazing up at the ceiling of the Sistine Chapel… but I’ve never been atop a camel -so you got me on that one!

  2. I was born in San Diego… my Dad was Navy. When we went to the zoo, I thought we were there for the CHICKENS since that is all I could see from my stroller. πŸ™‚ I also remember the flamingos smelling pretty bad but being so beautiful. Oh, and the mice that burrowed in the huge piece of bread… AND the two headed snake. AND riding the turtles…AND riding the escalator through the WOLF AREA… bet they don’t do THAT anymore. I guess I DID see more than the chickens!

  3. Pingback: To All The Bloggers I’ve Loved Before | We Work For Cheese

Leave a Reply

