Looking for God in the Higgs Boson particle

Lately there’s been a lot of talk in the news that the so-called God Particle, the Higgs Boson, might have been found. That is to say the essence of all there and life itself may have been found. Yet to scientifically paraphrase G.K. Chesterton; every scientist who looks for Higgs Boson is looking for God.

I truly believe if this kind of particle does exist, it won’t be God in itself but God will be in the particle. God cannot be contained in the vastness of the universe or even the span of all of human history, nor can he be reduced to a single particle. He is much too big and cannot be summed up by anything that we as humans place upon him. I have faith in Him, that somehow and someway if this particle does in fact exist, it does deter from the nature of God’s bigness but only adds to it.

I have been in the mountains of New Mexico when it has been a clear night and the span of stars above me just boggled my mind, I’m no man of science but looking at the bigness of my slice of the universe left me stunned and thankful to God for creating every single star I saw, every man woman and child in all the world as well.

Moments like this make me feel small but secure in the fact the fact that God loves me as I am and not as I should be. I cannot truly fathom how big and how great God is, I can only speak at length and detail of what I know He has done in my life.
There is so much that I don’t know, but I love learning and my curiosity for who I am as a human being and who God is drives me forward.

I do appreciate what the men and women of science are doing, and I wish them well as they look for the Higgs Boson particle, may they find what they’re looking for, may they find God in the process.

~Nathanael~

One thought on “Looking for God in the Higgs Boson particle

Leave a Reply

