Help defined

A good portion of what I do for work is helping others out. To some extent the people I work with are capable of taking care of themselves, but there are certainly times where they come to me or I to them and I help them out. For reasons pertaining to the nature of what I do I won’t devulge anything that I do, in which I’m stopping talking about my work right now.

Yet lately I’ve been toying with the reasons why I like to help other people out, and I’ve also been exploring how help is defined.

I think the reason I like helping others out is because I like to paired with that there are times where I think I’m really getting through to someone as I help them. My helping doesn’t come from a place of assessing the person’s problem and tackling it headon, but more of taking time to BE with the person who has a problem, active listening, and going from there to work with them on their problem together.  I do help with people on their problems in a together kind of way because it gives the person ownership as to dealing with their problem paired with my assistance is given where I can and however I can.

Help can be defined in several ways, according to Dictionary.com here are several:
– to give or provide what is necessary to accomplish a task or satisfy a need; contribute strength or means to; render assistance to; cooperate effectively with; aid; assist:
– to save; rescue; succor:
– to make easier or less difficult;

Yet when I think how I define help, I think this. Help is asking someone to assist you from the path you’re on, diverging from the course you’re on and turning into a better direction that what you’ve been on up to that point.

When I ask for help, I’m not looking for assistance that will keep me going the way that I was going, but in a direction that’s different and better. Yet if I am honest with myself I don’t nearly ask for help as much as I should, my pride gets in the way and sometimes I think asking for help makes me appear weak.

But I’m getting better at asking for help, and not the sort that comes from texting a friend, facebook…none of that, but in real life help.

Everyone needs help sometime or another. Don’t hesistate to ask, it’ll make you better than the appearance of it making you weaker.

~Nathanael~

One thought on “Help defined

  1. Was so happy to here from you
    Ito iam in the business of helping othwer all day long n thrn i carry the help home with my two child. all n all it the end of the day. Iknow i made someone elses day alittle brighter n isnt that what we are here for, love you miss you cherie.
    p.s. iam in florida not. missed ignite fest was very sad. hope all is well with you

Leave a Reply

