Suicide is not the solution – 2/28

https://i0.wp.com/media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ll8q53NUzu1qhfllf.jpg

I truly believe that one of the common denominators that everyone in every walk of life can related to is pain. Pain caused by self, caused by others, caused by circumstances that are beyond our control and circumstances that might be under our control but still hurt in their own right.

Sometimes when that pain comes it goes rather quickly, sometimes it lingers and goes on and on and you wish you could do something to get rid of that pain, and sadly some individuals think they should just end their lives so as to end the pain as well…

HOLD ON!

Suicide is not the answer, suicide is not the solution, if anything it causes more pain to the friends and family and acquaintances of the one who chose that way out.

How do I know this? Well, none of my friends ever committed suicide, but I tried to on two occasions. I’m not proud of that fact, but I need to say it, because if I can reach through the internet with my story as someone who has tried and they themselves reconsider, then maybe my attempting suicide was not in vain.
Life gets tough, Life is tough, but ending it all will hurt more people than you can imagine. I don’t want to say that suicide is selfish, but in many respects it is; I get that sometimes all that one thinks/feels/dwells upon is the pain and it’s hard to focus on something else in the heat of it, but for the love of God please try! My focus that stopped me from nicking myself the 2nd time was my 3 sisters, I did NOT want any of them to find me in a puddle of my own blood in the bathroom, their finding me like that is what saved me.

I no longer have thoughts of suicide. Have my circumstances changed for the better? Some yes, some no, but I hold on to hope, and I keep pushing forward to make for myself and others a better tomorrow, a better future. I can’t guarantee things will get easier, but I can guarantee that suicide is not going to “fix” much of anything. Hold on, please, hold on!

~Nathanael~

Need help? In the U.S., call 1-800-273-8255
National Suicide Prevention Lifeline
12 thoughts on “Suicide is not the solution – 2/28

  1. An excellent post, and agree with Nicky that it took courage to tell your story. It is indeed the ultimate “hold on”. Thanks for sharing, and maybe you just turned someone back on to living.

  2. One of my best friends killed himself after high school. I felt it was my fault… “maybe if I can gone out that night he called”… things like that. Then one day (I swear this is true) he came to me in a dream and said he was OK where he was and it wasn’t my fault. It really felt like he was there telling me.

    If he knew what his suicide would do to all of his friends and his parents, he would not have done it.

  3. Yes, I believe telling someone about the fact you are thinking of “offing” yourself is very courageous. You never know what response you are going to get from people…you never know what you are setting yourself up for…short and long term.

    I am glad you didn’t succeed.

  4. I’ve dealt with two suicides of friends, one of which I was quite close. He was a mentor to many of us and he killed himself a little more than 20 years ago. I spoke to him about 4-5 hours before he did it and he was making plans with us for the next day. I think about that often enough. I’m glad you keep holding on. I’ve had the worst two years of my life (which I’m still in) and have always found a way to hold on and keep pushing. I’ve always believed there is something worth living for and keep that thought!

  5. This is taking the “Hold On” prompt to another level. Thank you for posting something so personal and so honest. It’s worth reading twice.

Leave a Reply

