I have the cooking skills to pay the bills – 6/28

https://nathanaelvitkus.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/5697.jpg?w=300

One of my passions in this life is food; eating food, preparing food, cooking food, entertaining others with food. 🙂

When I was younger so much younger than today… I was a real problematic child to my mom; oh I was a hell-raiser, and I did a disservice to her by being as belligerent and stubborn as I was. I still am in some ways, but it’s more constructive, or so I convince myself.

Anyway, cooking, despite being a hellion to my mom I was the only child who showed interest in helping out around the kitchen (cooking wise). She and I would cook together and just BE, I’d hear stories about her relatives who were bakers and it was interesting to keep some part of our family history alive by cooking. Interestingly enough to compliment my father’s side of the family, relatives on his side of the family were butchers. I also recall enjoying watching The Frugal Gourmet on PBS when I was little, but then again I was an odd little boy.

In a way, cooking has been a haven for me because I enjoy experimentation, preparation, and consumption of whatever it is that I am cooking. I really enjoy the aspect of cooking that is cooking for others, heck, one of the criteria of the apartments I’m checking out is better-ish cooking and entertaining space. I think the main reason why I like cooking for others is because it is one of the ways I like to show that I care and love whomever I’m with, whether friends or family, my love is in the food I am making.

The only draw back is currently I cannot do that, the kitchen I work out of is small and cramped 😦 But I’m looking, and hopefully I find something better 🙂 I can’t say if I will ever have a sizable kitchen to call my own, but I can dream, and plan, and wish that someday I don’t have to tune out the sirens of domestic blissitude that call to me when I’m at Ikea that pique my “what-if” interests…someday, someday… Until then I will make do with what I have instead of what I don’t, but I guess that’s applicable in other areas of life and not just in cooking.

Bon Appetite!
~Nathanael~

16 thoughts on “I have the cooking skills to pay the bills – 6/28

  1. I go through phases where I enjoy cooking, then when I am focused on other things or projects, or hubby’s schedule is crazy, then it is just put something on the table. I don’t have a large kitchen or much prep space, and dishes and pots are all nested and stacked up. I get your desire for a larger space. I would like to have the space to entertain, too. Maybe one day…

  2. Hey Nathanael, this one really caught me my surprise, and I was delighted to discover your passion here. I love cooking, for all of the same reasons as you, and am similarly cursed with an electric hob, the bane of any cook. But one day, I will return to gas an entertaining 🙂 Thanks again for this; it’s probably my favourite of yours so far. Indigo

  3. I LOVE cooking. But I need someone like you to really teach me. If you show me, I can do it. Well, I can TRY to do it. OK… I’ll try and probably fail, but it would be fun either way!

  4. It is so good that you and your Mom can share your love of cooking. I cook and both of my sons love to cook. I must admit that they are better cooks than I am. I raised them right. Now they feed me! 🙂

  5. I wished one of my kids enjoyed cooking. I started cooking for my parents when I was around 16 years old. I have been kind of slacking lately. I think it’s the depression. Not sure. But I’m glad to hear you enjoy it so much. 🙂

  6. Food and nostalgia seem to go hand-in-hand. It’s nice that you were able to share your love of cooking with your mom. It’s an interesting idea that an activity could be a person’s haven.

  7. I wish my mom had actually cooked with me instead of making me cook. Perhaps the kitchen would be a haven for me today instead of a torture chamber.

Leave a Reply

