Texting is communication with a caveat – 7/28

As someone who texts on a regular basis to family and friends, I enjoy the brief spurts of communication here and there. Yet I am fully aware of the short-comings of texting.

No emotion is truly known / feelings might get hurt without the other knowing – While some phones provide you with visual queues as to what the person is feeling, be it πŸ™‚ or 😦 it is still pretty speculative when it comes to texting. A friend conveyed to me that he knew something was up with the other person because they used ITALICS, um, Italics eh? Sarcasm as well cannot be detected by way of texting, if someone responded to a sarcastic text by asking that person if they’re being sarcastic they easily could text “No I am not being sarcastic” while being sarcastic, but again, that is lost in translation when texting.

Texting and Driving – Now I am guilty of having done this one in my life, and while there are stats that say that texting and driving is worse than drinking and driving, I rather come from the perspective of what driving is; so much of driving is observation and responding to what’s been observed, nobody truly needs to add distracting behavior while you’re observing. Nowadays I don’t even pick up my phone to answer it while driving, I’m not a multitasker, and (for me) talking on the phone only takes away from my driving.

The caveat of texting as communication – As is the case of most things, moderation is where it’s at. When texting becomes your only means of communication then…you’re doing it wrong. Texting should NOT replace face-to-face communication, granted if you’re texting your friend in California and you’re in Illinois, there’s some ease and grace for doing so. Yet if you’re texting your bro, and you can drive out to hang out with him, by all means stop texting and go hang out with him. There are people in my life who are distant from me (personally) who only text me, ONLY, and it bothers me and I don’t respond and they get angry and text me. Seriously? You’re consciously choosing to text me over talking to me and hanging out with me? That is offensive to me and whatever is left of our relationship.

Text if you will and if you can, but take time to disconnect from your phone and connect in real life. It’s so much better, I promise!

~Nathanael~

 

//

14 thoughts on “Texting is communication with a caveat – 7/28

  1. I often find myself wanting to disconnect from my phone and connect in real life. Then I realise I live in Finland, the cell phone mecca of the world, and that if I disconnect from my phone, I will most likely be pronounced dead to the world.

    • It’s kind of strange that disconnecting from technology can have that affect. I once was off of Facebook for a few months, because were down right worried…but didn’t bother to call me or anything 😦 Um, Facebook isn’t the only way I can be reached.

  2. I have the kind of phone with the alpha/numeric keypad – not a full keyboard…so it’s very annoying to text. Plus, anyway, it’s a phone…it’s like using a cat litter scoop to dig your driveway out of the snow. It will work…but do you HAVE to do it? πŸ˜‰

    • You don’t HAVE to do it πŸ˜‰ My mom’s an example of this, she abhorred texting for the longest time…but that’s because she didn’t give herself space to learn how, and now that she has learned, she texts! Maybe more than I’d like, but technology, for better or worse, comes down to whether the user wants to. So you don’t have to, but do you want to might be the better question πŸ™‚

    • As someone who has been on the receiving end of such a text, it hurts deep, especially it’s the most passive aggressive way…apart from announcing it to the world via Facebook, but not letting the other person know.

  3. Hey Nathanael! Yep, texting and its close cousin Instant Messaging are perfect for distance relationships, but so much less satisfying than Sype video or a real chat on the phone. Amd none take the place of a hug, a rare phenomenon of which I’m rather fond. Indigo

  4. I really enjoyed this post. You packed it in with good insights today. Also, “Texting is communication with a caveat” is kind of an awesome title.

Leave a Reply

