The road goes ever on – 11/28

http://southcarolina1670.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/lonesome-highway.jpg?w=420&h=315

I am an autophile and I love to drive, which are good things…except for the fact of gas prices being in flux, but all the while…mile after mile of smiles!

The longest stretches of driving (so far) has been going from Phoenix AZ to Aurora IL in the 1988 Toyota Corolla my grandmother bequeathed to my sister, and the one time I drove from Aurora IL to Nashville TN to spend some time with my sister (which interestingly enough I talked about last time there was aย  WeWorkForCheese‘s writing/blogging challenge).

Yet lately the road has beckoned again, but this time it will be different from anything I have ever done. My plan is as follows:
1) Peruse Craigslist in southern states (more than I do)
2) Find me a rust free…
https://i1.wp.com/www.dat280z.com/DSC00079.JPG
3) Make sure it is in working order prior to flying out to…said southern state.
4) Drive it back to IL!

***

Yes, I am a fan of the early Z Cars, and preferably I’d like to pick up a 280Z 5-speed RUST FREE version of this car…but I am wary that salted roads ala winter time in IL might not be conducive to such a rust prone car. One of my better friends drives a Mazda Miata, and as tempting as a rear wheel drive Miata is to me, I’d like a rear wheel drive car of another breed.

I am an ardent reader of the SpeedHunters blog and I get Pavlov Dog-ish when I see properly taken care of Z Cars, cars that look so good despite their age! I too want to be one of those Z Car owners, and I really don’t know if I’d keep it clean and stock, or modify it; as there’s a plethora of aftermarket parts, both keeping with the stock theme but also there are LSx swaps and other engine swaps to give it more bang for ones bucks!

I don’t know yet when I’ll do this, but it’s in the back of mind too much of time and only in the front of my mind sometime. Yet I think it will be a worth while trip, a roadtrip, to find a car of my auto-based dreams and drive it back! ๐Ÿ™‚

~Nathanael~

15 thoughts on “The road goes ever on – 11/28

  1. I know absolutely nothing about any of the cars you mentioned, but I do know a little something about salt and rust.. I have paid more to have the rusty pieces of my car welded back together than the car is actually worth.

  2. Living in NH, I have a fantasy of flying to FL and buying an old convertible and driving it home. I have no illusions that I could drive it year-round. I’d be happy being able to cruise the streets for the 3 months of summer.

  3. I, too, love the early Z cars. I once dated an obnoxious old fuck just to ride in the car that made him feel like he still had a working penis. Fortunately for me at the time, he didn’t, but damn I loved that car.

  4. I dated a guy with an old Z…. he let me use it one time…. I had the top off and cruised the strip in college. I got TONS of whistles. They were for ME, right? Not the car?

Leave a Reply

