The little things in life; where did my childlike wonder go? – 19/28

https://nathanaelvitkus.files.wordpress.com/2013/02/littlekidtoyboxfort1991spartanburgsouthcarolina.jpg?w=300
(not me, but I did like playing in boxes when I was little)

When I think about where I am now, the “little things” are as follows; drinking French Press coffee, sleeping in, spending time with my little nieces and nephew, driving through the country, taking time to photograph, taking time to read, taking time to be… But even now, some of the “little things” in my life are way more complicated than what were the “little things” when I was young.

When I was young the little things were playing in a box, catching fireflies, watching the sky for shooting stars, playing with my sisters and possibly annoying them all the while. Those little things didn’t require much, just time, friends, and family.

One thing that crosses my mind as a follower of Christ is what Christ said about following him in Matthew 18:3 – and said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.” The way to get to know God is a simple way, not a simplistic way, it is one holding on to the Father’s hand even if the grasp is a mere pinkie, it’s about faith and doubt and being unsure of where it is all going…where life is going, and taking what he said by faith and bound up religious dogma, making following him a lengthy list of do’s and don’ts.
So much of Jesus’ ministry when he was alive on earth was to the poor, the weak, the marginalized, the downtrodden…and also, to children! He went so far as to rebuke his disciples when children gathered to spend time with him, and in that day and age that’s rather astounding.

So when I examine the little things in life both past and present, I realize that while so much has changed I still can find ways to live a more simple life. It’s the Lenten season for followers of Christ, and while some might be all about giving up something, I recognize that if I am going to do that it must be something that lasts longer than Lent. I’m still not sure how I fully approach a more simple lifestyle, the big one that comes to mind is living in excess, living with more this and that, when I really don’t need more material possessions in my life.
The little things in life help me recall who I was and who I am, but also who I want to be. I don’t live in self-imposed guilt for having too much, but it does weigh upon my soul when I see and interact with people who have less than me. so it begins with change and figuring out what I can to approach life by way of the little things, but also to approach God as a child in innocence and awe of a God who is bigger and better than I couldn’t have ever imagined.

~Nathanael~

12 thoughts on “The little things in life; where did my childlike wonder go? – 19/28

  1. “So much of Jesus’ ministry when he was alive on earth was to the poor, the weak, the marginalized, the downtrodden…and also, to children!” That is so true. I wish more people who carry the banner of religion would remember that. Nice heartfelt post.

    • Sure thing!
      1) Boil some water
      2) While waiting for the water to boil, put some loose coffee grounds in your french press
      3) When water is boiling, put it your french press
      4) Stir the grounds with a wooden spoon, from what I’ve read you might have plastic or metallic tasting coffee if you use a plastic or metal spoon respectively
      5) Let the grounds settle for 2-3 minutes with the lid of your french press on
      6) After 2-3 minutes, press the plunger/filter thing down to the bottom.
      7) Voila! That should do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

