Last train home from a summer concert – 21/28

https://i2.wp.com/theorangepress.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/IronAndWineByLarsBorges001.jpg

2 summers ago a few friends and I boarded the Aurora IL train out to Chicago, it was free concert night! Iron & Wine were the main attraction, with a few opening acts, and it was good…but before any of the bands hit the stage, we had to get through the crowds.

People? I’ve never seen that many people gathered in one place in Chicago! I’ve seen a lot of people at the Chicago Art Institute, but they’re spread out; they’re all not gawking and being entranced by Night Hawks despite how good a piece of art it is. I’m fine with crowds, I really am, but this was ludicrous or at least so this is what happens when Iron & Wine plays for free was what crossed my mind.

Trying to find a seat was a crap-shoot, my bro and his girl went one way while my friend and I went another way. We lucked out and found two seats that were comfortable and enjoyable…apart from the fact that while the sun was setting I was in a position where my forehead was burning. We watched the show, had a good time, and walked back to the train station to catch the last train home…

Now that experience I had of being around a big crowd was magnified 1000 fold aboard the train! Packed in like sardines would be one thing, but that statement does injustice to sardines and whomever was on that train. I think it was overwhelming for the conductors and other train staff as well, because I was never had my return ticket stamped! So it might have been the most crowded and free train ride ever, I’ll have to get in touch with Guinness Book of Records about that one πŸ˜‰

The Aurora IL is the last stop of the train line, so it became less and less crowded by the time we got back into town. Our lesson was certainly learned; when free and concert are paired together, everyone, and I mean everyone, will show up for it.

~Nathanael~

8 thoughts on “Last train home from a summer concert – 21/28

  1. You are so right, Nathanael. In fact, you can pair the word “free” together with pretty much ANY other word (including, but not limited to, “doughnuts”, “donkeys” and “dentist’s appointments”), and people will flock there.

  2. Free is definitely a big draw. We have an event every fall called “rock the block” filled with free entertainment, music, street vendors, wine tastings, etc. That brings out lots of folks, although parking is interesting.

  3. Hey Nathanael! I can identify with this; we had exactly the same sardine experience on the way back from the London 2012 Olympic Opening Ceremony. I was next to a young couple necking without taking a breath for six stops. Impressive. Indigo

Leave a Reply

