I am a funny serious/serious funny guy…deal with it! – 26/28

I am funny guy…this is true.

I am a serious guy…this is also true.

I am both, and can switch gears where needed be and yet it perplexes some people sometime that I am both, well to the naysayers who say you can’t be both…deal with it!

***

So maybe people don’t reject the possibility of being a funny serious guy or serious funny guy, but sometimes in my getting to know the opposite sex I’m isolated or worse, I’m the funny guy who can’t be serious…or I’m the serious guy who can’t be funny. It hurts me a bit to be labelled for this or labelled at all, I switch gears with my funny and serious as needed be, what’s so hard to comprehend about that?

I don’t like being labelled, because as Kierkegaard put it best; “when you label me you negate me”, and I don’t want to be considered worthless for any reason especially reasons pertaining because of the particular type of person you think you I can neatly identify as.

I am not neat, I am a problematic individual, I am a wanderer, I am a questioner, a doubter…these aren’t labels, but attributes I recognize about myself. If I look past the labels affixed to me I see an individual who is bright and cheery about things happening in the now and things that will happen in the future, a dreamer, a planner, a lover of love who wants to love and be loved.
I want to transcend the bullshit that so often is at my feet, I want to avoid the proverbial Damacles’ swords that hang over head, I want to walk through that door and not look back at past mistakes but look back so as to reminisce in a slightly nostalgic way as to what got me from here to there. 🙂

It’s not an easy road, God knows that the portion of “Amazing Grace” that sticks to me is the “Through many dangers, trials, and snares” part, I’m not at the “I have already come” portion of the song but I’m getting there, little by little day to day. There have been moments in my life where I have learned things the hard way, or ways where if I just had a healthy guide to lead me I wouldn’t have made some rudimentary mistakes…but I’ve learned, and sometimes relearned.

So even though I derailed myself in this post that started out about me explaining I’m a serious AND funny guy, not separated or divided…deal with it 😉

~Nathanael~

4 thoughts on “I am a funny serious/serious funny guy…deal with it! – 26/28

  1. I think we’re all problematic individuals, not easily defined in any one particular way. It’s all part of being human, with all the complexities of human emotion and behavior. It is, however, easy to put labels on people, because while we’re all complicated and deep, we’re also lazy. Trust that those who truly care for you won’t take the easy way out and reduce you to nothing but a label.

    In fact, it’s a bit like this challenge. Some people write and then enjoy the readership, the comments, without taking the time or making the effort to read the other posts. Others write, enjoy the readership and the comments, and then go on to read and comment on everyone else’s posts, too, getting to know them, building friendships. It’s a question of going the extra mile for other’s. Giving them a fair chance. 🙂

  2. Maybe those who are trying to define you are looking for definition in their own lives. Maybe they feel undefined? Regardless of their motivation, the important thing is that you remain true to yourself and aren’t swayed by other people’s definitions.

  3. Hey Nathanael! I’ve been single for a long time, and have had similar issues with labels. Very few people I meet embrace both sides of the coin, and seem content with one side or the other. But that’s starting to change for me. And I hope it will for you too. Indigo

Leave a Reply

