Giving myself space to veg out (and be okay with it)

“Ah! There is nothing like staying at home, for real comfort.” – Jane Austen

There used to be a time in my life where I had a hard time unwinding after a week of work. I didn’t focus on work outside of work, but I imposed some guilt upon myself for taking life easy and perhaps even lazily. My friend Mark, who I mentioned in this post, wondered why I was like this and called me out on it. I don’t think I had adequate responses to his inquiry, perhaps I answered in a piecemeal of excuses, but over time I’ve let myself get lazy.

Now don’t get me wrong, I do not like being lazy for long periods of time; I grow antsy, I find something to do, heck I’ll dry dishes even though I’m told I’m a guest when visiting people for the first time, but…I need to find space to simply do nothing and be okay with it. This is why I’m writing this post; for my sake, but also for you the reader’s sake, if allowing yourself to veg out is difficult this is for you.

Since my work week is non-traditional, that is Friday to Monday I work and Tuesday thru Thursday are my days, I usually allow myself a day of “nothing” on Tuesday. How do I do that? I watch (more) shows I fancy, read some books (okay, I read other times as well), and simply…well…simply put, I have good wifi reception in my bedroom, so I lay in bed with my laptop…staying in bed later than I usually do! Yes, truth to be told, I too like to live dangerously.
I am OKAY with where I’m at with vegging out on Tuesdays, but sometimes that self-imposed guilt I was talking about creeps back in and I kinda have to kick its ass otherwise I am prone to fretting and worrying something’s amiss with me, which works against the very nature of just vegging out for vegging out’s sake.

Now it is your turn as the reader. Do you allow yourself space to veg out? Yes? No? What do you do when you allow yourself to do this? (If in the negative) why don’t you allow yourself space to veg out?

I’m interested in what you have to say about this, so please, comment! ๐Ÿ™‚

Back to veg out mode,
Nathanael

Leave a Reply

