CCM is coming back into print (speechless)

xxao.jpg

Speechless, I am rather speechless. Turns out CCM (Contemporary Christian Music) is trying to get back on its feet and start anew. I am not angry, I am not pissed, but rather I am frustrated by the circulation of money spent by Christians for Christians and their “Christian merchandise”. I wrote the following a short while ago on CCM’s Facebook wall…

You say you want to bring back CCM?
My question is simply complicated…why?

Why must there be another “Christian” magazine to promote solely “Christian” music and other “Christian” products?
If anything, there needs to be a magazine about good music and products, because, as Derek Webb aptly put it, “when used to describe goods or services. the word “christian,” when applied to anything other than a human being, is a marketing term.”

Make a magazine about good things, but don’t conveniently compartmentalize it and affix Christian to it as if the word Christian were an adjective. The life of a follower of Christ needs to be active and lived out in love and in actions.
I also hope that this doesn’t become a sanitized “safe for the whole family” kind of magazine. The Gospel message of Jesus is not family friendly! There is a dying to self that for some followers of Christ it costs them everything.

***

Why can’t something better come from the way we as humanity spend our money? Check these staggering statistics; “3.4 million people die each year from a water related disease” – Water Facts “21,000 people die every day of hunger or hunger-related causes” – Poverty

Hello?!? Anybody?!? Those numbers are fucked up! Why you might ask? Because they can be taken care of, but instead we squander our resources for our own personal gain without giving a fuck about those who will be affected by our personal satisfaction. These kind of issues can be addressed and fixed! These things can be eradicated if we just put in the effort and resources. To the naysayers I quote you this:

When I was a young man, I wanted to change the world.
I found it was difficult to change the world, so I tried to change my nation.

When I found I couldn’t change the nation, I began to focus on my town. I couldn’t change the town and as an older man, I tried to change my family.
Now, as an old man, I realize the only thing I can change is myself, and suddenly I realize that if long ago I had changed myself, I could have made an impact on my family. My family and I could have made an impact on our town. Their impact could have changed the nation and I could indeed have changed the world.

by Unknown Monk, 1100 A.D.

***

This portion is to followers of Christ including myself…how the fuck can we truly call ourselves Christ-like if we don’t take care of those who are in need? How can we show the love of God to others if we don’t demonstrate it in our actions, our words, and our resources? This magazine will [sadly] go back into print, and as I write this there’s a little over $3,400 contributed to the Kickstarter page. This is a misuse of funds, and it is aimed at a limited audience and is inclusive…hmmm, strikes me as the opposite of who Jesus was and what he did. For the love of God and humanity do something better and bigger with your resources than throw it away on something like this.

***

Humanity, oh dear and precious humanity, I am sorry for my actions that screw you over. I am sorry for the times I don’t care about how my “savings” doesn’t save you and harms you or depletes what you have so that I have more to my more.

Lord save me from me and your followers,
Nathanael

Leave a Reply

