Going and doing; grace made me more loving, not more liberal

Luke 10:37 – “…Go and do likewise

Recently I read an article in Christianity Today entitled Survey: Frequent Bible Reading Can Turn You Liberal; It presents some issues I would agree with, social justice issues and justice, but at the same time it states that reading the Bible will keep your views about the LGBT Community intact, that by reading the Bible “it increases opposition to… …homosexual marriage and unions.”

Now I don’t believe that in times when I read the Bible I become more liberal. However, recognizing the grace that has been extended to me, the love God has for me, that has made me more loving rather than straight up liberal, or more liberal as some might think is the case for me.

Grace has been the keys that has unshackled me from myself. Grace has been the table set out for me, but not only myself but those like me and those who are not like me. Grace has been the posture that I aim to live out not only in words but in my actions in community with everyone around me. Yes I might have a liberal leaning towards some things in life, but there are elements of me that is moderate and even conservative. I will even say that grace has allowed me to hear my bro Mark talk about guns and actually take in what he has to say and it makes sense despite me not being a fan of guns! 🙂

There is also the nature of leaning on to the words and actions that are attributed to Jesus; when it comes down to it, I think that’s where the weight of the Bible comes from, not just reading what Jesus said and did, but “going and doing likewise”, that my faith isn’t one of coasting or stagnation, but active with dynamic and not static words.

Yes I have read the Bible as a whole, and I recognize that the context of any portion of the Bible hinges on reading it as a whole, and yet I recognize that even hinges on who Jesus is and what he did. In a way I look at parts of the Bible and use Jesus as the filter; does what this passage say align with who Jesus is and what he did? Yes, how so? If not, how so? It’s why I had issues with Paul and his ghostwriters had to say, because some of it is downright offensive if one’s to use Jesus as a filter. Yet it is still part of the Bible, and there is weight and worth to it, maybe not all of it, but some of it is salvageable.

One thing I lean on to what Paul said can be found in his letter to the Romans:
Romans 8:38-39  For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.
Nothing is able to keep us from the love of God, and yet I recognize in my own life I do a bad job of letting that be known, because I have limited myself to God’s love. I have recognized my thought patterns of thinking I am unworthy of love and grace, and while it’s been some time since I’ve been in that funk I realize that is not the truth because of the truth found in those verses, that nothing can separate me from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

So that’s where dynamic love and grace comes into play in my life. By freely extending what has been extended to me, to loving others unconditionally, Agape, as God himself loves me. It doesn’t come easy but hopefully when I leave this world I get it better than I do now. I’m in it for living and living for the long-haul! As long as I have blood flowing in my veins, as long as I am breathing, may my posture to everyone around me be one of grace and love.

~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

