Chicago Cubs; a lesson in perseverance – 4/28

Oh Chicago Cubs, how much you disappoint a lifelong fan, but in your losing streaks and close calls you teach me quite a bit about perseverance.

I am a lifelong Cubbie fan, I bleed red and blue because of the team and not some ancestral royalty. Yet the Cubs aren’t a good team, and some are certain they’ll win another World Series when hell freezes over, but I don’t need them to be that good to appreciate lessons learned from their hardships.
You see, there’s a phrase that gets tossed out when they get into a bigger slump as the season progresses; “there’s always next season” is the rhetoric of those who haven’t given up on the Cubs, but rather the predicament of a season that’s progressively getting worse. “Next season” is a hope, a dream deferred, for games yet to be played and quite possibly a better season. It’s something that is scoffed at. But still, I will take hope in any shape or size, including having a bit of hope in a team that in 2013 had 66 wins and 96 losses.

***

Hope is a strange and wonderful thing; it holds you down in the midst of life’s tragedies and turmoils, it sustains even when there isn’t a speck of sustainability, it can keep you going even when you don’t feel like continuing. As a follower of Christ, my hope is found in what God is doing and positive things done in God’s name. Sadly I am a realist with too much of a pessimist bent, and yet I realize that when life’s shit hits the fan, hope keeps me afloat, hope keeps me sane. Sure there are some things I wish and hope for that would be great “next season” but there is no “next season” for me, just one life and that’s it…and I am okay with that, but I admit, with having so many passions and goals I have started the process of clearing a very full plate and going after 2-3 of my dreams, my what-I-want-to-do-when-I-grow-up kinda things. It’s needed, otherwise I’ll be putting half-assed energy in a lot of things, when it would be better of me to give my all to a few things.

Mea culpa if I have strayed a bit from the theme, but I recognize the importance of having hope even when things seem awfully hopeless. Here’s to the Cubs, the hope of “next season”, and preferably winning a World Series preferably before hell freezes over 😉

~Nathanael~

7 thoughts on “Chicago Cubs; a lesson in perseverance – 4/28

  1. “I’ll be putting half-assed energy in a lot of things, when it would be better of me to give my all to a few things.”

    It is better to do a few things really well, than to do a lot of things half way.

  2. No need to apologize for straying… remember, the prompts are meant to inspire, not dictate. Part of the fun (?) of the challenge is seeing where it takes people.

  3. Cubs fans are a diehard group, Nathanael…you’re in good company. (And a great Steve Goodman connection link, Dufus. It does my heart good to know that a little bit of Steve Goodman is still at Wrigley Field!)

Leave a Reply

