Responding to emergencies, responding to fear – 8/28

If I were a bit younger I could easily see  myself as an EMT. I enjoy working with people and helping them to the best of my ability, and I am able to keep a level head and keep cool in difficult and stressful situations. One thing I to prepare myself for a difficult and sometimes dangerous situation is to let a bit of the fear in, let it come in and then I let it out, by coming to terms with the fear I am to move forward on the task set before me.

A few years back I was driving to work and I was going up a steep hill, and on the the side of the road where traffic was going down a woman stopped at the stop light at the top of the hill…

…but the semi behind her did not.

It barreled into her car and caused it flip over 3 times and land upside down. I offered up a silent damn and a prayer, parked my vehicle on the shoulder of the road and made my way to her vehicle, expecting the worst but arriving to help. A lot of cars passed rubbernecking the unfolded chaos, but didn’t stop. I was number 2 on the scene, the woman was alright as she climbed out of her destroyed car. Guy number 1 was calling for the police and an ambulance, and they were soon on their way. The semi driver was also okay, his vehicle was also destroyed as well.

***

This is me to a t; I am one who will help out where needed be ASAP. I mentioned I let in fear, but the reasons why I do that is because otherwise I could easily let fear take over and then I would be a wobbling mess. I let fear in to let it back out again, to prepare myself for the worst and to remain calm in spite of danger because if I can help someone else out safely, I’d be no good to the other person if I myself get injured in the process, I will do my best.

Stay safe, but if you don’t, I’ll help! 😉

~Nathanael~

8 thoughts on “Responding to emergencies, responding to fear – 8/28

    • It’s not my profession, tho I admit there are times where I have to respond to emergencies in my line of work. I’m rather seasoned at this time and can handle things on my own if needed be.

  1. I love this! My oldest started classes to become an EMT. He did REALLY well… top of his class. I was so proud. Blood, burning… anything… nothing would bother him. EXCEPT POOP. Sure enough… he went to his 8 hour shift in the ER and had no problems with the blood… then he had to deal with poop and vomit. Being in a resort town, the EMT teacher said you will see more of THAT stuff than anything else…. he realized it wasn’t for him. But like you… if there is an emergency? He will be ALL over it.

Leave a Reply

