Happy Spirit Day 2014

https://i0.wp.com/photos-b.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xaf1/10724119_998299566850129_845426300_n.jpg

Today is Spirit Day, which is a day to stand in support and solidarity of the LGBTQ Community. I too stand in solidarity for the LGBTQ Community, as a follower of Christ / Red Letter Christian I am compelled to.

One of the verses in the Bible that speaks to me about love is found in John 13:34-35, in which Jesus said; “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

Here’s the thing I’ve found to be true in all situations pertaining to people that are either similar to me or different than me:

Love requires proximity.

If I have choose to avoid certain individuals, if I keep my distance, how then will the love of God flow out of me to those individuals?

If you’re going to be intentional with someone, you should want to BE with them, you should want to hear their stories, you should want to break bread with them and so on…because in doing so, the differences that you might have thought existed have now become less than before. You connect with them on a human level and you realize not only their humanity but yours as well.

I’m not saying you ought to do what I do, think what I think, or even believe what I believe. All I’m saying is get to know people in proximity and allow your posture to be one of grace and humility. Otherwise you’ll find that you’re there but not there, and others are bound to pick up on this fortified wall you’ve surrounded yourself with and they might not be receptive to you.

***
It is for these reasons I choose to model my life after Christ’s; for this I choose to position Jesus at the center of my life, in him I find a purpose to live, in him I have found ways to “go and do likewise”. And what does that look like? Well I would hope that it is in alignment with Micah 6:8, that I “act justly…love mercy and…walk humbly with…God.”
For this I choose to be an ally to a community that has been marginalized and picked on by the church. For this I choose to be outspoken for those who sometimes do not have a voice. For this I cannot keep quiet. For this I choose to love instead of hate or show indifference or apathy.

May my love be louder,
Nathanael

3 thoughts on “Happy Spirit Day 2014

  1. I do believe that love is God’s highest goal for us all, moreso than mere head-knowledge, though truly this is where love starts. For if indeed we don’t know what our Father in heaven, the Lord Jesus, and the Spirit of God means by love, then, well, we are like a missile without a guidance system and no hope of hitting the target God wants us to hit.

    Love isn’t easy. Extending God’s love to others is hard. And extending God’s love to others isn’t optional for those who claim to follow (= obey) Jesus, even those who cherry-pick God’s word, looking only at the quoted words of Christ Jesus recorded in the gospels and thus ignoring the full counsel of God.

    “He who has my commandments and keeps (=obeys) them,” said Jesus, “he it is who loves me.” Jesus goes on to say that what results from us obeying (= loving) Him is what we as believers long for with all of our hearts, “And he who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I will love him and disclose myself to him.”

    How important is love to Jesus the Christ, the Lord, our Savior? Jesus quoted from what we call the Old Testament (and thus, in doing so, ratified its veracity), “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, strength, and mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And a second is like it: You shall love your neighbor as yourself.”

    Love? Obey? Commandments? Go to the middle of what we call the New Testament and what only arrogant cherry-pickers avoid, 1 Corinthians 13, and examine 15 attributes, attitudes, and actions of love listed there. I personally don’t find God’s description of love listed here easy to consider. But I do thank God that even though what He requires is not easy, that God in describing love has given me clear paths to follow.

    How good it is to know what God requires of us, and how good it is to align our understanding and our practice with His truth, no matter how difficult it is and no matter how at times it conflicts with our previous conceptions. This certainly applies to our general conceptions, or rather misconceptions, about love. And if we choose not to cherry-pick God’s word, this applies to our conceptions, and misconceptions, of God’s ideals, plans, and commandments of all aspects of our lives, including the realm of human sexuality.

Leave a Reply

