Seeing with Christ’s eyes; loving my father better

https://nathanaelvitkus.files.wordpress.com/2014/11/cd196-christpantocratorhagiasophiaconstantinople900.jpg

2 weekends ago at my church we discussed centering prayer, and how to practice this practice:

https://i2.wp.com/photos-g.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xaf1/10747960_475868322555998_1472897412_n.jpg
In my own time I practiced this out and the word I chose was vision.

Now vision in and of itself doesn’t imply good or even bad vision, it simply means being able to see. As I meditated on this word it was pressed upon my soul that I on my own I have shitty vision when it comes to some individuals in my life, in particularly my father. You see, my father and I have a strained relationship, and some of it is differences in religiousity and some of it is wants/expectations in the other, but this is my narrative so I will stick to my side of the story as it is the only one I truly can convey…
With my own eyes I see my father with shitty vision so much of the time. I want for him to be connected with his humanity, what really makes him real, what makes him alive, and so I self-impose the kind of father I want upon my father directly but so often indirectly. Life since I moved out (and even before then) was hit and miss, and I miss connecting with him, no agenda in mind, just being and doing something with him.

So as I was praying and meditating, vision came to mind, my vision in particular. It was pressed upon my heart and mind that my vision needs to be altered, that my vision when it comes to view myself and others needs to be that of Christ’s. Jesus’ vision was 20-20, he saw people with love and he saw clearly the person before him; he reached out to others and a lot of the time he simply asked them what do you me to do? He didn’t say this with an accusatory tone, but one of love.

In a way, the cataracts of my soul have started healing as a result. So fast forward to last Saturday, my father and I hung out over lunch and a movie, and it was a lot of fun! He showed me a pen he had made for me (his hobby / passion / artist expression is wood working):
https://i2.wp.com/photos-h.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xfa1/10787831_614306815357951_1225842139_n.jpg

and a few others he had recently made:
https://i2.wp.com/photos-e.ak.instagram.com/hphotos-ak-xaf1/10755951_1406622359627796_1403472833_n.jpg

All in all it was a good time with my father, and I attribute it to finally seeing my father through the eyes of Christ. The eyes of Christ sees my father in this way, but myself and all of humanity included! The river of grace runs wide and runs deep for all.

See with the eyes of Christ and change your world!
~Nathanael~

Leave a Reply

