Paying bills as a spiritual exercise; day 12 of Ramadan

https://i2.wp.com/www.livehappy.com/sites/default/files/styles/article_featured/public/main/articles/Couple-working-on-laptop-computer.jpg

They say that the only certainties in this life are death and taxes, yesterday was a case of the latter. June’s wrapping up and with that I need to be financially responsible to several companies as well as to my landlord by way of paying bills.

I can’t complain about my bills, for they help to put a roof over my head and allow me to keep in contact with other people and to also help keep me in shape. As I was paying my bills I remembered a bible verse found in James 1:17, and it says this; “Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above.” Now I don’t know why I found myself thinking about this verse except perhaps because I have a job that pays me money, not a lot but I am able to stay afloat and from a global perspective I am doing quite well.
The money I receive helps to keep my car running, puts food on my table, allows me to go to events, and it also allows me to pay my bills. I don’t mind paying my bills because it is a spiritual exercise, and if you don’t believe me I urge you to give some thought about what paying bills accomplishes in your own life, perhaps they’re the same or similar to my own.

It’s good to pay bills even if they appear to be daunting and I know full well what it’s like to barely make ends meet. It really can be a trying time in one’s life when money is hard to come by and when bills seem to keep coming in or they are in fact coming in.  And yet if you think about it, when bills are paid you can breathe a little easier and you can also thank God! You can also be mindful of where you’re at in life; that you’re alive, that you’re still breathing, that you’re still going, you’re still making it even if not by much.

So with all that being said, paying bills were my keywords on the 12th day of Ramadan. Thanks be to God, The Great Provider, who helps us and takes care of us and provides for us. May we in turn offer up what we have to those who are in need, so that we too can help others and take care of others and provide for others.

Salaam alaikum be yours now and always,
Nathanael

Leave a Reply

