Morning meditation 7.4.15

Morning meditation 7.4.15

Morning meditation 7.4.15

It’s been awhile since I’ve been to a fourth of July parade, but it is my intention to go to the one in my hometown today. But I’m sure I will incur some wrath by those who don’t understand that I don’t say the Pledge of Allegiance nor do I stand when others do for it.

You see, I believe in ideals that are bigger than the United States of America; I pledge allegiance to the kingdom of God and all of its inhabitants therein, I pledge allegiance to doing my part ushering forth Perfect Shalom and Tikkun Olam, I pledge allegiance to not seeing the world as a bad place getting worse, I pledge allegiance to those who are deemed enemies, I pledge allegiance to those who are subjugated to torture and life in prison, I pledge allegiance to minorities social outcasts the marginalized the wounded the hurt the broken, I pledge allegiance to my LGBTQ brothers and sisters, I pledge allegiance to my brothers and sisters of all faith traditions, I pledge allegiance to my brothers and sisters for atheists and agnostics, I pledge allegiance to whoever I have wronged and whoever the church has wronged…

These are those that I pledge my allegiance and solidarity to, because the kingdom of God is bigger than flags and nations. May my pledge and my love be louder than the Pledge Of Allegiance!

Leave a Reply

