Red Letter Christ-centric Universalism 101: A Working Definition of Red Letter Christ-centric Universalism

https://nathanaelvitkus.files.wordpress.com/2015/07/cc86b-dictionary.png?w=606&h=382

You won’t find a definition in the dictionary for Red Letter Christ-centric Universalism, so I will utilize this post to unpack what I mean by it.

Red Letter = A lot of Bibles record what’s attributed to what Jesus said by writing it out in red letters. Subsequently, I try to conduct my life based on what’s attributed to what Jesus said and did, thus red letter.

Christ-centric = As I stated above, I try to conduct my life around what is attributed to what Jesus said and did. Christianity and following Christ has been very much a part of my life in its entirety. I am Christ-centric because of my roots and what works within the framework I have and what I’ve been given. Had I been born in a Buddhist culture and tradition, I would be Buddha-centric, Had I been born in a Muslim culture and tradition, I would be Koran-centric, and so on and so forth.
I am not the only one operating out of centrism to one’s beliefs past or present, and both realities meet within my Christ-centric views and faith system.

Universalism = I believe that everyone will be reunited and reconnected with God, themselves, and others some eon on the other side of eternity. I don’t believe in an exclusive god, a god that only a select/elite few will ever commune with, a god that damns a portion of humanity to hell. This universalism is inclusive, it is for people of all belief systems and Atheists and Agnostics too!

What this all looks like is something I will unpack in an upcoming post, so stay tuned! 🙂

~Nathanael~

2 thoughts on “Red Letter Christ-centric Universalism 101: A Working Definition of Red Letter Christ-centric Universalism

  1. Hi, Son, it’s your Dad again.

    Based on what you are writing here, let me see if I understand, correct me if I am wrong, confirm if I am on target. You believe:

     You conduct your life based on what Jesus said.

     You are Christ-centric because of what you learned in your (our) family

     Centrism means your beliefs reflect your upbringing, what you learned while growing up

     Everyone will be reunited and reconnected with God, themselves, and others

     God does not select a few to commune with

     God does not damn a portion (or majority) of humanity to hell

     God reunites and reconnects believers of all faiths, complete unbelievers of no faith (atheists), and those of dubious faiths (agnostics)

    Is this on target?

    LoLove FAE, Dad

    • Hi Dad Vitkus! I have read Nathanael’s blogentries over time as you have also. I am impressed with his deep convictions that the Christ he tries to emulate would reach out without Judgement to other Faiths and the outcasts of our society. Jesus challenged his own contemporaries to stretch their defination of Faith ( their Jewish religion) and reach out and consider that the hated and marginalized Samaritans of their society were also within the Grace of God. As I read and understand Nathanael’s Faith journey, he began as a follower of Christ, but his strong convictions about how Jesus would live in the present age, and who Jesus would reach out to, put him in a different “Camp” than many Christians. Nathanael seems to challenge Christians not to be satisfied with a simplistic or judgemental Faith because Jesus was not satisfied with that either.(See John 4:3-42. See Luke 10:25-37.

Leave a Reply

