Church Incognito; Social Awareness and Social Justice, my experience at a Church of the Brethren

A couple of months ago I went to church at a Church of the Brethren, a denomination I knew that was known for conscientious objectors and being very verbal when it came to issues of social awareness and social justice. The Sunday I went to was no different as the church shooting in Charleston was brought up and discussed at length (which I for one think is a good thing). It was very encouraging to hearing this issue brought up as well as police shootings of recent brought up in church, as I think that these are issues that people face all too often and I think that the church should foster discussion about this more often. The church does already, but I think more is required, and not just by pastors but by the congregation as well.

The congregation was multi-generational; it was encouraging to see kids with their parents and grandparents coming together to worship God together. When it came to worship music it was very hymn based, and I enjoyed that because I don’t worship in a setting where we don’t sing hymns. I tend to fall in the middle when it comes to contemporary worship music and hymns, I like a good deal of them and appreciate the sentiment expressed.

After church I struck up a conversation with one of the parishioners. He shared with me what being a follower of Christ meant to him as well as what being aligned with the Church of the Brethren church. He had been a member of the church for a long time, and for him faith kept him following Christ but also the memories tied up in attending that church for so long. All the while he had a nostalgic look upon his face and I gathered that with the stories he shared with me.

I was also encouraged by their posture in reading the Bible, that for the most part they read the Bible seriously but not altogether literally. Marcus J. Borg’s Reading The Bible Again for The First Time comes to mind when followers of Christ choose to do this, and I for one agree it must be done in this fashion.

I too can say one of the reasons that keeps me coming back to The Orchard every weekend is the memories I have associated with it and yet I realize that it’s not a bad reason to go but I realize it shouldn’t be the only reason I go. Yet we all go through seasons of life, and sometimes a church works for a while and there are times where your best bet is to leave on good terms and find something else (not necessarily better in all occasions).

Overall it was a good time communing with the people who attended the Church of the Brethren. I appreciate followers of Christ who exemplify the beatitude of “blessed are the peacemakers” because it is one of several things I want to align myself with and practice in my faith system of a Red Letter Christ-centric Universalist. I want to have a hand in Tikkum Olam / Healing The World, and it starts with my individual efforts that ripple outward rather than inward.

~Nathanael~

5 thoughts on “Church Incognito; Social Awareness and Social Justice, my experience at a Church of the Brethren

  1. Hey Nathanael…your blog caught my attention through a Facebook post today. I spent my high school years participating in a Church of the Brethren in Elgin, IL. I spent the day reading years of your blog posts. Your journey and your honesty as you seek to live the Words of Christ thru example and love are truly an inspiration. I will not forget you, my brother

  2. Yes. I come home at various stages of my life and then am propelled to other experiences . I’m glad that one of your life pursuits has been writing. You may have blogged many years with little feedback, but the power of the internet is that years from now someone like me could again stumble across your words and be Blessed by this Loving, Living Christ in your life experiences.Just as I have been this week. Many Thanks!!!!

  3. Nathanael, I think I landed on each of your incognito church articles and enjoyed them very much. I’ve often thought about doing the same kind of thing. Jesus is our common ground but worship can look different. Well done on these! I learned a lot.

Leave a Reply

