Presently I have a hard time being present; being here and now when I am mentally else where

2 nights ago I spent 5 of my 7 hours of sleep contemplating and analyzing and thinking- subconsciously. You see, as of late I have been really REALLY restless when it comes to BEing present, I am mentally elsewhere when I am with friends as well as family. Why? Well as I was subconsciously exploring this in my sleep (if I were indeed sleeping) I realize this truth about myself: I am a 5th wheel, I am a single guy at the age of 31.

And it’s not entirely a bad thing to be single, I am aware of this fully, but there are some things that it takes being a “we”, a couple that cannot be addressed when you’re single. Some of it I take in stride, some of it I dismiss, and some of it I am hurt by being single and lacking that connection with another human being. As a full fledged heterosexual male, I miss being a “we”, having a girlfriend I can call up to see how she’s doing, making plans for the weekend, making cards (yes, I make ’em by hand with all my love), doing normal and sometimes banal things, the …I miss it all.

Being with couples as a single guy has contributed to me not being present, being here, being here in the now, and so on. It’s not the only item to my distraction but I realize it has played a big part. With that being said, I am working to overcome my distractedness and BE present to what’s happening around me and who I am with.
I might still be single, but I am intentionally working on myself and my lot in life and what have instead of what I have not. I admit it’s an uphill boulder-pushing endeavor, but I know it will be worth it in the end. Presence and BEing is what I seek at this time, but if more good things come my way I will seek to be present and BE with it to the best of my abilities.

Onward and upward,
Nathanael

2 thoughts on “Presently I have a hard time being present; being here and now when I am mentally else where

  1. Nice pic. A question.

    Is the core issue:

    – you are single, not a “we,” not a part of a couple, a 5th wheel

    Resulting in:

    – you are not ‘present’, not in ‘the now’, not ‘being’, not mindful

    Or is the core issue:

    – you are not ‘present’, not in ‘the now’, not ‘being’, not mindful

    ?

    Dad

    • The latter; “the core issue:
      – you are not ‘present’, not in ‘the now’, not ‘being’, not mindful” is my main issue nowadays. Yet being single has contributed to my lack of being present and mindful.

Leave a Reply

