Going back to school!

I am rather excited to say this, I am going back to college! In a way, it’s about time, but in another way I’m looking forward to going back to school and getting my Masters in Social Work. Apart from getting a MSW, my goal is to get the credentials to become a licensed professional counselor (LPC) as I want to provide counsel and therapy to people in addition to working in the behavioral health field.

Now why a MSW and a license to professionally counsel others you might ask? Because I believe that where I am at currently in my field is the ceiling given my experience and my educational background. Don’t get me wrong, I am still going to do what I do whole-heartedly and not half-assedly, but I realize this truth about me; I was meant to do more within my field, and I won’t be truly satisfied with my work-life until I get those necessary 8×10 sheets of paper.

At the last job I was at I worked under a woman who balanced out this very well, and while it isn’t my intention to copy or educationally or vocationally, but she certainly is an inspiration to me. And then there’s my beloved roomie Brian who [is single and available ladies and] has encouraged me to start the process, and he put it well, there’s no better time than now! And given our circumstances in life at this time, I concur with him wholeheartedly.

Onward and upward,
Nathanael

One thought on “Going back to school!

Leave a Reply

