…But overcome evil with good; my recap of Chicago Pride 2014/I’m Sorry Campaign 2014

Since 2010 I have volunteered with The Marin Foundation and friends in the I’m Sorry Campaign, and earlier this year I spearheaded the first ever I’m Sorry Campaign in Los Angeles, and last year I was a part of the I’m Sorry Campaign in Memphis. But this year was a first for me, as I went to the Chicago Pride Parade to be a part of the I’m Sorry Campaign in front of the protestors.

Reuben, and other guys with bullhorns, and galls with signs, took their anger and fury and crafted for themselves a god and spewed it on anyone and everyone. They had police protection and were guarded, and it was definitely a “great” display in demonstrating the effectiveness of USA’s Freedom Of Speech, but their speech…and conduct within their pin…Lord have mercy, Christ have mercy.


While it angered me and frustrated me, more than anything else I felt fear being in their presence. These “street preachers” seemed to pick apart everyone and anything that crossed their hairs. I was still fearful when I started dwelling and meditating on Romans 12:21 “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.” (bold and underlines are mine.)
It really cleared my fear up very quickly, it also helped me be present; to those in the parade, to those around us, to the other I’m Sorry Campaigners, to the protestors, but also unto God and what I was led to do by the Holy Spirit on the day as well as when I first went in 2010.

We received the usual stuff they hand/throw out at Pride Parades, but we also gave and received hugs and embraces from others, I held shaking, quivering, guys and gals who saw us after seeing the protestors and were incredibly moved by us being present in front of them proclaiming that God is love not hate, we allowed others to cry tears of happiness and relief that not all Christians come across as being unloving, we received we-forgive-you’s for our I’m-sorry’s, but ultimately I believe we embraced humanity but we also embraced divinity as well.

It was a blessing to be a part of the I’m Sorry Campaign for the second time this year. I am glad to play my part in restoration and reconciliation because while ultimately God, I believe with every cell of my body that we can help usher in perfect shalom. I never have the feeling that I am going to bring God to the Pride Parades I attend by way of the I’m Sorry Campaign, because God is already present and moving through those who gather. Being the hands and feet of Christ are important, but being his arms to hug, his shoulders to lean on, and his ears to hear the stories of others, that too is very important. I am proud to be a follower of Christ and I am thankful for the faithfulness of The Marin Foundation and friends who live intentional and incarnational lives, lives invested in the lives of others, lives invested to build bridges between the Christian Community and the LGBTQ Community. Not that they are islands unto themselves, but there needs to be more overlap and dialogue.

Happy Pride everyone, to God be the glory!

~Nathanael~

12 thoughts on “…But overcome evil with good; my recap of Chicago Pride 2014/I’m Sorry Campaign 2014

  1. Pingback: ‘Jesus’ Went To The Chicago Gay Pride Parade With A Very Important Message | Social Dashboard

  2. Pingback: 'Jesus' Went To The Chicago Gay Pride Parade With A Very Important Message | CauseHub

  3. Pingback: Jesús rechaza cristianos homofóbicos y se pasa del lado de los gays

  4. Pingback: Jesús rechaza cristianos homofóbicos y se pasa del lado de los gays | David Romero Vara

  5. Hey Nathaniel, it’s your buddy Anthony, The Gay Guardian Angel. I don’t know if you know how many people talk about your awesome deeds long after the parade is over. I do my thing, and so many people send me pictures of you asking “did you see this guy” or tell me about “this guy that looked just liker Jesus with a sign that said “I’m not with them”…..you’re a handsdown favorite experience for so many people, and I’m glad I got to meet you so I could tell people how super nice and warm you are. Thanks for your humor and your love and doing what you do……. it changes everything.

  6. Pingback: on the interwebs… | the WayWard follower

  7. It is good to know that there are religious people that understand that love can not be wrong!
    I live in Mexico and people here, as in US, is very religious, but I believe we are progressing little by little and love will find its way.
    I am really really proud of your work, thanks for doing this, you inspire people and make others feel accepted.

  8. Pingback: 10 things you could only see at a Pride parade | Manchester news

  9. Pingback: Lioar-media

Leave a comment